CNC Path Selection

CNC routing a 2 D Part. The first side milling removes most of the material hole routing, including through material. When routing the second side it repeats work already done. Is there a way to select what areas to avoid?

Note the two rounded edges on second side routed. It also seems to run back and forth across the entire part diving into the holes and note just back and forth along the rounded edge.

Hi @dana1954 and welcome. I can’t see what options you have selected for roughing. If you want to share your workspace (model + settings), right click the workspace and export.

Uncheck clear voids in roughing and holes will be cut out but not cleared.

Uncheck clear faces and only step downs at multiples of the step down value will be cut. It is then up to you to use a contour or trace operation to clear those faces.

For curved faces, you can use a contour operation with curves only checked.

I’m brand new at trying CNC wood routing. And will try the above suggestions.

I exported the workspace. But how is it shared? Is there a way to upload it somewhere then share a link?

You should be able to drop it into a post here. If not, email it to me [sa@grid.space]

Hi @stewart, I emailed the workspace. You’ll not see much there. I’ve been trying things out to see what happens so to learn that way. Not having a related background to understand terminology has its drawbacks.

This is a two sided routed part. How does it know what material was already removed from the first side. You route one side, flip it over, then setup and route the second side. The only way to prevent it from redoing through part work would be to path de-select. There does not seem to be path controls.

Also the Tabs were lost when I flipped it over. So now the piece will come loose during routing. Is there a way to flip it over and keep the Tabs?