Questions about Part List

Hi, I am going to try to build my first ever 3D printer and I decided to use this build, mainly because of its elegance.

However, I am now cross-checking the CAD model with the Part List, partly to decide which parts to buy and where (Europe) but also to get an understanding of how a 3D Printer fit together.

Right now I have examined the frame profile fully and I have a few questions about it:

1. The alu profile seems to be standard 2020 but in Part List and in CAD it’s referenced as 1010, why is that? The link to amazon seems to be to a 2020 still.

2. Using angled brackets to tighten the alu frames requires tee nuts, right? I wonder because none are mentioned either in the CAD model or the Part List.

3. Some parts are fully custom, e.g. corner plates, how would a person like myself (without access to a 3D printer) acquire these? Does anyone here sell em? Can I place custom 3D print orders? Remember I am still new to this 3D business so I am not quite sure about this.

Thanks for sharing this amazing build btw, best wishes from Sweden.

Hi @Will_I_am344 and welcome. Check this forum for all the updates to the printer. There is a v2.5 that I’ve posted updated models for. 90%-95% of the parts are the same.

1. some places it’s referred to as 1010 (imperial units thing). but it’s really 20mm x 20mm

2. yes, you need T-slot nuts and bolts – I recommend M5 – I don’t have an accurate count by length. various lengths from 8mm - 20mm are needed. this is a fair amount of work (updated BOM) I haven’t gotten around to.

3. I have made them several different ways. 3D printing, laser cut acrylic, laser cut aluminum, cnc

there are services that can fabricate them given part models. for the XY rail mounts, I recommend aluminum if you can get that for rigidity.

Thank you for quick and helpful answer. I will check out V2.5 then. Would you recommend building that over V2?