Proper tool path for simple grid removal

I am working on creating a simple spoil board. I have a ball nose 1/8 end mill cutting a grid 1/8 deep. I set my material to the same dimensions as my board and model, 53" in the x 48" in the Y. I am not sure the best tool path to create or if there is a better way to model the grid maybe? When I go to kirimoto to generate tool path, it tells me my x is to small. If I set x to 53.001 it will generate but also cuts the edge which I do not need.

This is my first project and it is all new to me. Any help is appreciated.

Not sure the best way to share, but lets try this

Thanks, Lee

hi @muellercandd and welcome. first on the stock, just set it to offset and 0,0,0 and it will be the same size as your model.

Screen Shot 2022-10-24 at 9.53.52 PM

as for the model, it’s really hard for the engine to detect contoured pockets the same dimensions as the end mill. it’s better to model the grooves as a V shape, then use the trace tool to select lines.

this is your model close up using a pocket tool to highlight the cutout areas

here is the model I recommend where you can easily select the mid-lines for trace cuts

when you animate this with a 1/8 ball tool, you get this

Thank you, this worked perfectly

1 Like

Oh boy, I made my spoil board. some hickyos on the way, but i got it!! Now, I stafted a simple project with just text on a board, only need to cut out the inside of the letters. I used conture and am not happy with the result or time to cut. Trace will not work in this case. Any suggestions? I coukd do conture again with a smaller bit?

1 Like

Text is tough. If you can use pocket, that might do the trick. it has both contour and trace options. try those out. pics of the final animation and cuts always helpful.

Pocket worked great, thank you!

1 Like