Kiri:Moto and Safari

Hi all, I am very new to CAM and Kiri:Moto and have just sliced my first test project via Onshape.

All seems to be fine however I cannot find a way to make the “export” work!

I don’t have any ad blockers installed, and have disabled the standard block settings in Safari as far as I can see, I have set the Kiri:Moto prefs to Grid:local and Preview and the export starts but the bar stalls on “transfer”.

On a related note I think - If I try to run an animation a pop-up appears which says “the security context of this window prevents animations”.

I have been using OnShape for a few years without issue.

I have run Kiri:Moto directly via Grid.space as well with the same problem.

Can anyone suggest a setting I have missed? Thank you in advance!

Safari is defeating all attempts to debug this with some perverse restrictions that no other browser seems to implement. I have verified this error with KM 3.7 in Onshape with Safari, but it seems to work for me on Grid.Space directly. You should be able to use the version menu top right to switch to KM 3.8 in Onshape … but Safari is not honoring this. You can do this on Grid.Space, but Safari is not honoring this change inside Onshape the way other browsers do.

Please see if 3.8 works for you when running KM off of Grid.Space

Safari/Webkit is to modern browsing what IE was long ago.

1 Like

Many thanks for the prompt reply @stewart and for your debug attempts! I know the guys @printables.com have had a number of issues that seem to be fixed after no small effort, and even our banking sites seem to mostly work, so I hope the force is with you too!

I am old and set in my ways :wink: and did get a small shiver when you mentioned IE, and a big one when I reluctantly downloaded Chrome for the very first time. It won’t become my primary browser, but it did not exhibit the problem. Out of curiosity do you have a recommended browser?