Cutting Finger Joints with Dogbones

Hello,

I am relatively new to Kiri:Moto so I hope I am missing an obvious approach to what I’m trying to do. I have pre-cut pieces of 3/4" plywood that is 4 9/16" wide and of varying lengths. I would like to cut out only the finger joint ends with dogbones in the corners (left picture). But, when I choose the outline operation, Kiri:Moto obediently generates paths around the entire outline of the modeled part. Is there a way to edit the outline to restrict it to one area?

I am resorting to the creating a model with a .125" offset edge and using the tracing operation with a .25" endmill to just do the interior finger edges (right picture). Any feedback is appreciated!

Thank you!
Roger

Hi @rogerbaas and welcome. I’ve just added dogbones support to traces. Because open polylines don’t have a “direction” (clockwise/counter-clockwise), there is also a “reverse” checkbox in case the algorithm guesses incorrectly. This is accessible via the version menu top-right … select KM version 3.9, which is the development branch. I look forward to your feedback.

1 Like

Thank you, @stewart! I switched to 3.9.D7 and tried the trace operation with dog bones and then reverse dog bones enabled. Unfortunately, it did not add the dog bones in either case. See below.

It looks like I broke this in the last push (typo). Pushing an update in the next hour to remedy. Sorry about that :frowning:

updated: fixed code now in production